Through Europe along the former Iron Curtain


20 nations are part of the Iron Curtain Trail project, among them 14 members of the EU.

The path starts at the Barents Sea along the Norwegian-Russian and Finnish-Russian border, passes a short stretch of the coasts of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, Kaliningrad, Poland and the former GDR. From Lübeck to the three-nation border (Saxony-Bavaria-Czech Republic) the path follows the former German-German border. Then it follows the highlands of the Bohemian Forest, passes Moravia and the Slovak capital of Bratislava and crosses the Danube near Vienna.

It then follows the southern border of Hungary via Slovenia and Croatia. Between Rumania and Serbia it follows in the main the Danube, and, via Bulgaria, Macedonia and Greece to end at the northernmost point of Turkey on the Black Sea coast.

The path traverses many national parks with interesting flora and fauna and connects many unique landscapes which, because they were either with the border areas or close to them are hardly touched. The path also connects many monuments, Museums and open-air establishments which remind us of the history of the division of Europe and it’s ending via a peaceful, a “velvet” revolution in Eastern Europe.

The stages

The Nothern part
The route through Germany
The Southern part

Am ehemaligen Eisernen Vorhang quer durch Europa


Am Projekt "Iron Curtain Trail" sind insgesamt 20 Länder beteiligt, darunter 14 Mitgliedsstaaten der EU.

Beginnend an der Barentssee verläuft der Rad- und Wanderweg entlang der norwegisch- und finnisch-russischen Grenze bis zur Ostsee und passiert die Küstenstreifen von Estland, Lettland, Litauen, Kaliningrad, Polen und der ehemaligen DDR. Von Lübeck bis zum sächsisch-bayrisch-tschechischen Dreiländereck folgt der Rad-Wanderweg dem ehemaligen innerdeutschen Grenzstreifen. Dann führt er über die Höhen des Böhmerwalds, vorbei an Mähren und der slowakischen Hauptstadt Bratislava, um bei Wien die Donau zu überqueren.

Entlang der Südgrenze Ungarns führt der Weg über Slowenien, Kroatien und die Vojvodina. Zwischen Rumänien und Serbien folgt die Strecke weitgehend dem Lauf der Donau, um schließlich über Bulgarien, Mazedonien und Griechenland am nördlichsten Punkt der Türkei an der Schwarzmeerküste zu enden.

Die Strecke verläuft durch mehrere Nationalparks mit einer interessanten Flora und Fauna und verbindet eine Vielzahl einzigartiger Landschaften, die wegen ihrer Grenzlage und vormaligen Sperrzonen nahezu unberührt geblieben sind. Er verbindet aber auch unzählige Mahnmale, Museen und Freiluft-Einrichtungen, die an die Geschichte der Spaltung Europas und seiner Überwindung durch die friedliche Revolution in Ost-Europa erinnern.

Die Etappen im Einzelnen

der nördliche Teil
durch Deutschland
der südliche teil